Division of Powers – new analysis by CASE and LSE

Division of Powers is the first analysis in its kind. It provides an overview of levels of institutional and fiscal decentralisation in all EU countries, (potential) candidate and Eastern Partnership countries (see for a list of featured countries). It shows the legal bases for the various governance structures in the respective countries. Quantitative and qualitative data allow for cross-national comparisons in the most important policy areas. An interactive map provides additional information on systems of multilevel governance and subsidiarity mechanisms in each country​​​​​​.

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) and CASE - Center for Social and Economic Research are responsible for the content of the pages concerning the EU countries (revised in June 2019).